Leicester & District LeagueX - Results Missing

Leicester & District League 1982/83

Barlestone St. Giles win the league for the second season running.


WinnersRunners Up
Premier DivisionBarlestone St. GilesCity Gas
Division OneFrisby UnitedStoney Stanton
Division TwoBurbage Old BoysVenture House
Reserve Premier DivisionBarlestone St. Giles ReservesAylestone Park Old Boys Reserves
Reserve Division OneHinckley Nomads ReservesThurmaston United Reserves

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Leicester & District Mutual Football League

Thurmaston United (+Reserves).

From the Melton & Rutland District Football League

Venture House.

As well as the above teams the following reserve teams also joined:

N. Corah Reserves.

Premier Division

1Barlestone St. Giles26203389355443
2City Gas26158364392538
4Apollo RTH26128677453232
5N. Corah26152957362132
6Kegworth Rovers26143980493131
7Aylestone Park Old Boys261241070412928
8Welby Lane United26131125962-327
9Downes Sports261051159481125
10Blaby United2697104646025
11Leicestershire Constabulary2694134954-522
12Loughborough DynamoR2652194479-3512
13Husbands BosworthR2635183188-5711
14Bentley EngineeringR26102518152-1342

Division One

1Frisby United26183569373239
2Stoney Stanton26166469303938
3Hinckley Athletic Reserves26157458292937
4Asfordby Amateurs26153854292533
5Hinckley Nomads26137661372433
6Thurmaston United2612593738-129
7Uppingham Town26124106557828
8British Shoe Corporation268995045525
9Earl Shilton Town2694134857-922
10Cosby United26102144155-1422
11Heather St. John’s2694136984-1522
12Huncote Sports & SocialR2664164454-1016
13New Parks Boys ClubR2636172376-5312
14Clarendon NomadsR2624203999-608

Division Two

1Burbage Old Boys26224097207748
2Venture House26174579403938
3Thurlaston United26165574413337
4Ibstock Welfare26156554322236
5Sapcote United26146668452334
8Oakham Town2695125669-1323
9Fire ServicesL2686125460-622
10Jones & ShipmanL2655163661-2515
12Countesthorpe United2646163181-5014
14Equity United2635183879-4111

Reserve Premier Division

1Barlestone St. Giles ReservesM28241398405849
2Aylestone Park Old Boys Reserves28212599306944
3Apollo RTH Reserves28186487424542
4Downes Sports Reserves28146860372334
5Petfoods Reserves281351058451331
6British Shoe Corporation Reserves28132136360328
7Asfordby Amateurs Reserves28115124554-927
8Huncote Sports & Social Reserves28115126272-1027
9Welby Lane United Reserves2896135361-824
10Stoney Stanton Reserves2896134365-2224
11City Gas Reserves2887133652-1623
12Earl Shilton Town Reserves2894154166-2522
13Blaby United ReservesR2884163769-3220
14Ventora ReservesR2863195594-3915
15Loughborough Dynamo ReservesR2834213989-5010

Reserve Division One

1Thurmaston United Reserves30233490335749
2Hinckley Nomads Reserves29232491434848
3New Parks Boys Club ReservesL29214497395846
4Burbage Old Boys Reserves29193777324541
5Husbands Bosworth Reserves30184887365140
6Ibstock Welfare Reserves29148769591036
7N. Corah Reserves30143136365-231
8Frisby United Reserves30115146886-1827
9Countesthorpe United Reserves30114155575-2026
10Cosby United Reserves29113155655125
11Kingsway Reserves2997135366-1325
12Sapcote United Reserves3088144259-1724
13Uppingham Town Reserves29103166285-2323
14Heather St. Johns Reserves2953214792-4513
15Jones & Shipman ReservesL3044222873-4512
16Equity United Reserves30222637124-876
Note: this table was built up from an earlier table and from the results played after that point. I’m missing the results of four games, one of which involved Hinckley Nomads Reserves who I know won as they became champions ahead of Thurmaston United Reserves.

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Barlestone St. Giles to the Leicestershire Senior League.
  • Barlestone St. Giles Reserves to the Leicestershire Football Combination.

Fire Services, Jones & Shipman (+Reserves) and New Parks Boys Club Reserves also left the league.

At the end of the season the following clubs changed names:

  • Clarendon Nomads became Hinckley Knight.