Leicester & District League

Leicester & District League 1981/82

Barlestone St. Giles are champions.


WinnersRunners Up
Premier DivisionBarlestone St. GilesAnstey Town
Division OneApollo RTHAylestone Park Old Boys
Division TwoStoney StantonCosby United
Reserve Premier DivisionAnstey Town ReservesApollo RTH Reserves
Reserve Division OneAylestone Park Old Boys ReservesLoughborough Dynamo Reserves

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Leicester & District Mutual Football League

Kingsway (+Reserves).

From the North Leicestershire Football League

Asfordby Amateurs (+Reserves).

The following new teams joined the league:

Burbage Old Boys (+Reserves) (last played Saturday football in the 1976/77 season in the Leicester & District League, they also have teams playing Sunday league football in the Hinckley & District Sunday League), Hinckley Athletic Reserves and Thurlaston United (first season in Saturday football having played Sunday league football in the Hinckley & District Sunday League.)

As well as the above teams the following reserve teams also joined:

Aylestone Park Old Boys Reserves, Jones & Shipman Reserves, Sapcote United Reserves and Ventora Reserves.

Premier Division

1Barlestone St. Giles262321100297148
2Anstey Town26194378215742
4Kegworth Rovers26154765412434
5City Gas261051153421125
6Leicestershire Constabulary2687114148-723
7Welby Lane United2687114863-1523
8Bentley Engineering26102144360-1722
9Husbands Bosworth2684143150-1920
10Loughborough Dynamo2675144171-3019
11Blaby United2658134155-1418
12British Shoe CorporationR2673163979-4017
13New Parks Boys ClubR2664164674-2816
14Huncote Sports & SocialR2656152857-2916

Division One

1Apollo RTH26204275294644
2Aylestone Park Old Boys26193486285841
3N. Corah26192566353140
4Downes Sports26173658263237
5Asfordby Amateurs26125948361229
6Uppingham Town2610884941828
7Earl Shilton Town269894956-726
8Fleckney AthleticL2676134250-820
9Frisby United2692155367-1420
10Burgess Products2684144970-2120
12Oakham TownR2665154263-2117
13Fire ServicesR2672173970-3116
14Ibstock WelfareR26312237103-667

Division Two

1Stoney Stanton26193485285741
2Cosby United26184493336040
3Hinckley Athletic Reserves26173673324137
4Hinckley Nomads26138562332934
5Heather St. John’s26143976581831
6Equity United261411165471829
7Jones & Shipman26133104950-129
8Sapcote United2611695149228
10Burbage Old Boys2693145761-421
13Countesthorpe United2644183489-5512
14Thurlaston United26232126117-917

Reserve Premier Division

1Anstey Town ReservesM32284093167760
2Apollo RTH Reserves32206690434746
3Earl Shilton Town Reserves32221984622245
4Barlestone St. Giles Reserves321931077542341
5Petfoods Reserves32177872531941
6Downes Sports Reserves321841063471640
7Welby Lane United Reserves321541365531234
8Huncote Sports & Social Reserves32144146761632
9Blaby United Reserves32127136261131
10City Gas Reserves31109125859-129
11Stoney Stanton Reserves3298154960-1126
12British Shoe Corporation Reserves3297165261-925
13Bentley Engineering ReservesL32510174674-2820
14Fleckney Athletic ReservesL3283215289-3719
15New Parks Boys Club ReservesR3267195397-4419
16Burgess Products ReservesL3182215797-4018
17Frisby United ReservesR32562147100-5316

Reserve Division One

1Aylestone Park Old Boys Reserves322741125279858
2Loughborough Dynamo Reserves32215675393647
3Asfordby Amateurs Reserves32204890553544
4Ventora Reserves32185992434941
5Kingsway Reserves321510779483140
6Husbands Bosworth Reserves32168871452640
7Ibstock Welfare Reserves321731270492137
8Jones & Shipman Reserves32128125758-132
9Hinckley Nomads Reserves32135145960-131
10Cosby United Reserves32119126071-1131
11Burbage Old Boys Reserves32142165159-830
12Uppingham Town Reserves3289155782-2525
13Heather St. Johns Reserves32610165793-3622
14Equity United Reserves3292214687-4120
15Sapcote United Reserves3264223586-5116
16Oakham Town ReservesL32472147106-5915
17Countesthorpe United Reserves3255223598-6315

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Anstey Town to the Leicestershire Senior League.
  • Anstey Town Reserves to the Leicestershire Football Combination.

Bentley Engineering Reserves, Burgess Products Reserves, Fleckney Athletic (+Reserves) (folded) and Oakham Town Reserves also left the league.

At the end of the season the following clubs changed names:

  • Burgess Products became Clarendon Nomads.