FA Amateur Cup

The FA Amateur Cup was a national knockout competition just for strictly amateur status clubs (clubs who did not pay players).

The competition ran from 1893/94 until 1973/74 when the FA abolished the distinction between professional and amateur clubs. It was replaced by the FA Vase competition which started in 1974/75.

No Leicestershire based team has ever reached the final.

In the season pages I’ll only be showing the results of Leicestershire based teams.

WinnersRunners UpFurthest Round
1893/94Old CarthusiansCasualsno Leicestershire teams
1894/95MiddlesbroughOld Carthusians3rd Qual – Leicester YMCA
1895/96Bishop AucklandRoyal Artillery Portsmouth 
1896/97Old CarthusiansStockton 
1898/99StocktonHarwich & Parkeston 
1899/00Bishop AucklandLowestoft Town 
1900/01Crook TownKing’s Lynn 
1901/02Old MalverniansBishop Auckland 
1902/03StocktonOxford City 
1903/04SheffieldEaling Association 
1904/05West HartlepoolClapton 
1905/06Oxford CityBishop Auckland 
1907/08Depot Bn., Royal EngineersStockton 
1908/09ClaptonEston United 
1909/10RMLI GosportSouth Bank 
1910/11BromleyBishop Auckland 
1911/12StocktonEston United 
1912/13South BankOxford City 
1913/14Bishop AucklandNorthern Nomads 
1914/15ClaptonBishop Auckland 

There was no FA Amateur cup during the 1915/16 to 1918/19 seasons due to the First World War.

WinnersRunners UpFurthest Round
1919/20Dulwich HamletTufnell Park 
1920/21Bishop AucklandSwindon Victoria 
1921/22Bishop AucklandSouth Bank 
1922/23London CaledoniansEvesham Town 
1923/24ClaptonErith & Belvedere 
1925/26Northern NomadsStockton 
1926/27LeytonBarking Town 
1929/30IlfordBournemouth Gasworks Athletic 
1930/31Wycombe WanderersHayes 
1931/32Dulwich HamletMarine 
1933/34Dulwich HamletLeyton 
1934/35Bishop AucklandWimbledon 
1936/37Dulwich HamletLeyton 
1937/38BromleyErith & Belvedere 
1938/39Bishop AucklandWillington 

There was no FA Amateur cup during the 1939/40 to 1944/45 seasons due to the Second World War.

WinnersRunners UpFurthest Round
1945/46BarnetBishop Auckland 
1949/50WillingtonBishop Auckland 
1950/51PegasusBishop Auckland 
1951/52Walthamstow AvenueLeyton 
1952/53PegasusHarwich & Parkeston 
1953/54Crook TownBishop Auckland 
1954/55Bishop AucklandHendon 
1955/56Bishop AucklandCorinthian-Casuals 
1956/57Bishop AucklandWycombe Wanderers 
1958/59Crook TownBarnet 
1960/61Walthamstow AvenueWest Auckland Town 
1961/62Crook TownHounslow Town 
1962/63WimbledonSutton United 
1963/64Crook TownEnfield 
1964/65HendonWhitby Town 
1966/67EnfieldSkelmersdale United 
1967/68LeytonstoneChesham United 
1968/69North ShieldsSutton United 
1969/70EnfieldDagenham1st – Loughborough Colleges
1970/71Skelmersdale UnitedDagenham3rd – Loughborough Colleges
1971/72HendonEnfield1st – Loughborough Colleges
1972/73Walton & HershamSlough Town1st – Loughborough Colleges
1973/74Bishop’s StortfordIlford3rd – Friar Lane Old Boys