Leicestershire Senior League

Leicestershire Senior League 1979/80

Shepshed Charterhouse win the league again.


WinnersRunners Up
Division OneShepshed CharterhouseAnstey Nomads
Division TwoEarl Shilton AlbionHarborough Town Imperial
League CupAnstey NomadsHoughton Rangers

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Leicester & District Football League

Holwell Works.

Division One

1Shepshed Charterhouse30227182216151
2Anstey Nomads30207375264947
3Oadby Town30178572264642
4Birstall United30169555371841
5Friar Lane Old Boys30157849371237
6Wigston Fields301210842311134
8Hinckley Town301361149381132
9Newfoundpool WMC30136113945-632
10Melton Town301271156441231
11Enderby Town Reserves30108124337628
14Ibstock Penistone Rovers3072212971-4216
15Lutterworth TownR3045212351-2813

Division Two

1Earl Shilton Albion30206482265646
2Harborough Town Imperial30205576314545
3Holwell Works30203774304443
4Narborough & Littlethorpe30194780285242
5Victoria YMCA30168659312840
6Wigston Town30175844341039
7Houghton Rangers (-2)30165959362335
8Barwell Athletic30910115058-828
9Barrow Old Boys30124145670-1428
10Sileby Town30104163760-2324
11Rolls-Royce Mountsorrel3088143056-2624
12Whetstone Athletic30412142248-2620
13Thurmaston PWMC30410163263-3118
14Syston St. Peter’s30410162964-3518
15Dainite SportsL3065193880-4217
16Corby Town Reserves3019202275-5311

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Dainite Sports, unsure which league they moved to but probably one of the Northamptonshire junior leagues.

Thurmaston PWMC changed their name to Thurmaston Town at the end of the season.