Leicestershire Senior League

Leicestershire Senior League 1971/72

Friar Lane Old Boys win the league for the second season in a row.


WinnersRunners Up
Division OneFriar Lane Old BoysOadby Town
Division TwoThringstoneStapenhill

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Leicester & District Football League

Barwell Athletic.

From the Loughborough & District Amateur Football Alliance


Division One

1Friar Lane Old Boys302721109278256
2Oadby Town30197477255245
3Blaby Old BoysL30176768412740
4Newfoundpool WMC30166864402438
5Midland Athletic30165975472837
6Ibstock Penistone Rovers301461062511134
7Jones & Shipman30128104545032
8Northfield UnitedL30127115252031
9Wigston Fields30126124853-530
10Measham Social Welfare30105154558-1325
11Cosby United3087153160-2923
12Earl Shilton Albion3094174158-1722
13Sileby Town3078153762-2522
14Melton Old Grammarians3049173677-4117
15Lutterworth TownR3056193694-5816
16Whetstone AthleticR3044223874-3612

Division Two

3St. Margaret’s Works30184875373840
4Cotton Sports30176761382340
5Shepshed Albion301311661431837
7Holwell Works30127117871731
8Barrow Old Boys30119104545031
9Barwell Athletic30119105757031
10Wellington Victoria30114154572-2726
11Leicester YMCA3096155757024
12Bentley EngineeringM30104165262-1024
13English Electric Whetstone3093182973-4421
14Midland Woodworkers30412143662-2620
15Loughborough UniversityM3083194269-2719
16Earl Shilton InstituteM30212716103-875

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Bentley Engineering to the Leicester & District Football League
  • Earl Shilton Institute to the Nuneaton & District Amateur Football League
  • Loughborough University to the Derbyshire Premier League

Blaby Old Boys and Northfield United both left the league after this season and disbanded.

Melton Old Grammarians and Midland Woodworkers merged after the end of the season to form Melton Town (who took the place of Melton Old Grammarians in Division One)