Leicestershire Senior League

Leicestershire Senior League 1972/73

Oadby Town win the Senior League.


WinnersRunners Up
Division OneOadby TownNewfoundpool WMC
Division TwoHinckley TownLutterworth Town
League CupFriar Lane Old BoysIbstock Penistone Rovers

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Kettering & District Amateur Football League

Great Bowden Imperial.

From the Nuneaton & District Amateur Football League

Hinckley Town.

Melton Town were formed by the merger of Melton Old Grammarians and Midland Woodworkers (both Senior League clubs)

Division One

1Oadby Town30236179186152
2Newfoundpool WMC30217281275449
3Friar Lane Old Boys30196593405344
5Ibstock Penistone Rovers301310751371436
6Jones & Shipman3014794738935
7Earl Shilton Albion30101194538731
8Wigston Fields30109116261129
9Midland Athletic30116134856-828
11Sileby Town3084183161-3020
12Cotton Sports3068162863-3520
13Melton Town3059163872-3419
14Measham Social Welfare3059162353-3019
15St. Margaret’s WorksL3056192759-3216
16Cosby UnitedR3072213077-4716

Division Two

1Hinckley Town22154362233934
2Lutterworth Town22143548222631
3Whetstone Athletic22143550242631
4Great Bowden Imperial22133648311729
5Holwell Works2211293436-224
6English Electric Whetstone (-2)22105752292323
7Barwell Athletic2292114356-1320
9Shepshed Albion2264122744-1716
10Wellington Victoria2263132854-2615
11Barrow Old Boys2245133260-2813
12Leicester YMCA2242162463-3910

St. Margaret’s Works disbanded after the end of the season.