Leicestershire Senior LeagueX - Goals IncorrectX - Won Lost Drawn Incorrect

Leicestershire Senior League 1949/50

Nuneaton Borough Reserves win the league.


WinnersRunners Up
Division OneNuneaton Borough ReservesBedworth Town Reserves
Division TwoQuorn MethodistsLeicester City ‘A’

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Birmingham & District Football League

Leicester City ‘A’.

From the Central Amateur Football League

Oakham Town (previously Oakham Rovers).

From the Leicester City Football League

Enderby Town and Oadby Imperial (previously Oadby United).

Whitwick Colliery Reserves joined the league. Whitwick Colliery fielded two first XIs last season so this may be the team that played in the Central Amateur League (the other first XI moving from the Central Alliance to the Birmingham & District Football League)

Division One

1Nuneaton Borough Reserves302334123497449
2Bedworth Town ReservesM30214598445446
3Coalville TownM301956118566243
4Rugby OakfieldL30174987503738
5Moira United3014106103742938
6Barwell Athletic30156985691636
7Symington’s Reserves (-2)M301371085661931
8Measham Imperial30127118980931
9Wellingborough Town ReservesM30133146871-329
10Earl Shilton Institute30124148086-628
11Anstey Nomads30123157794-1727
12Barlestone United3094175899-4122
13Ellistown Colliery30561952117-6516
14Hinckley Athletic Reserves3047193597-6215
15Rothwell TownM30622260111-5114
16Corby Town ReservesM30452155109-5413
Note: there is an error in the won/drawn/lost columns and in the goals for/against columns as the totals do not add up.

Division Two

1Quorn Methodists30224499475248
2Leicester City ‘A’302217108505845
3Whitwick Colliery Reserves302136114585645
4Desborough Town ReservesM30183982463639
5Loughborough Colleges3017310106822437
6Melton Town301551090741635
7Holwell Works30137108779833
8Stoney Stanton30144127671532
9Enderby Town301351282701231
10Barrow Old Boys (-2)30116137170126
11Oadby Imperial30104167187-1624
12Sileby British Legion30661870113-4318
13Morris Sports30822060110-5018
14Shepshed Albion30812161105-4417
15Syston St. Peter’s30552052100-4815
16Oakham Town30552057124-6715

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Bedworth Town Reserves to the Coventry & District Football League
  • Coalville Town to the Central Alliance
  • Corby Town Reserves to the United Counties League
  • Desborough Town Reserves to the United Counties League
  • Rothwell Town to the United Counties League
  • Symington’s Reserves to the United Counties League
  • Wellingborough Town Reserves to the United Counties League

Rugby Oakfield merged with Rugby Town to play in the Birmingham Combination under the Rugby Town name. Oakfield’s place in Division One was taken over by Rugby Town Reserves.