Leicestershire Senior LeagueX - Goals IncorrectX - Won Lost Drawn Incorrect

Leicestershire Senior League 1948/49

Coalville Town win the new Division One championship.


WinnersRunners Up
Division OneCoalville TownGresley Rovers
Division TwoMeasham ImperialSymington’s Reserves

This season the league moved from having Central & Western Divisions, which were both at the same level, to having a two tiered Division One and Division Two arrangement.

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Coventry & North Warwickshire Football League

Bedworth Town Reserves and Rugby Oakfield.

From the Kettering & District Amateur Football League

Desborough Town Reserves, Rothwell Town and Symington’s Reserves.

From the Nuneaton Football Combination

Atherstone Town Reserves and Barwell Athletic.

From the South Leicestershire Football League

Stoney Stanton.

Division One

1Coalville Town302037100514943
2Gresley RoversM301938101663541
3Ellistown Colliery30177680582241
4Anstey Nomads30176793464740
5Rothwell Town30184888741440
6Nuneaton Borough Reserves301731082503237
7Moira United301521385661932
8Earl Shilton Institute30141157477-329
9Bedworth Town Reserves30125136170-929
10Barlestone United30116136360328
11Rugby Oakfield30132158379428
12Corby Town Reserves30116136687-2128
13Atherstone Town ReservesM30921967105-3820
14Hinckley Athletic Reserves3056195384-3116
15Morris SportsR3072215498-4416
16Holwell WorksR30432330114-8411
Note: there is an error in the win/lose/draw columns and in the goals for/against columns as the totals do not add up.

Division Two

1Measham Imperial24165388503837
2Symington’s Reserves24152791613032
3Wellingborough Town Reserves24134775453030
4Barwell Athletic24134768581030
5Loughborough Colleges24125774591529
6Desborough Town Reserves24107770482227
7Melton Town24114979661326
8Stoney Stanton2494117275-322
9Shepshed Albion2485115466-1221
10Quorn Methodists2466125479-2518
11Sileby British Legion2464144893-4516
12Barrow Old Boys2463156984-1515
13Syston St. Peter’s2425173694-589
  • Overseal Institute resigned from the league before the season started.

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Atherstone Town Reserves to the Birmingham Football Alliance.
  • Gresley Rovers to the Central Alliance