Leicester & District League

Leicester & District League 2009/10

Belgrave are champions.


WinnersRunners Up
Premier DivisionBelgraveKingsway Rangers
Division OneGuru Nanak Gurdwara (GNG)Topps United
Division TwoNewbold VerdonLeicester Tile 08
Reserve Premier DivisionGuru Nanak Gurdwara (GNG) ReservesBirstall Royal British Legion Reserves
Reserve Division OneKingsway Rangers ReservesNorth Kilworth Sports Reserves
League CupBlaby UnitedCosby United
Chairman’s CupBirstall Royal British Legion ReservesBelgrave Reserves

Before the start of the season the following new teams joined the league:

Birstall Social, FC Barlestone St. Giles, FC Barwell and FC Desford.

As well as the above teams the following reserve teams also joined, Kingsway Rangers Reserves, Thurlaston Magpies Reserves, Thurnby United 2007 Reserves and Topps United Reserves,

Premier Division

2Kingsway Rangers24164467293852
3Magna 7324116744321239
4Mountsorrel Amateurs24123976651139
5Houghton Rangers2410684133836
6Blaby United2410595660-435
7Cosby United24104105156-534
8Birstall Royal British Legion2495105448632
9Oadby Boys Club ’93247984950-130
10Midland Syston St. Peter’s2467115062-1225
11County Hall2474133349-1625
12Glenfield Town2464143867-2922
13Welby Lane United (-3)R2424182591-667

Division One

1Guru Nanak Gurdwara (GNG)22181391375455
2Topps United22171476265052
3FC Kirkland22161585404549
4North Kilworth Sports2210484142-134
5Kibworth Town2210485464-1034
6Thurnby United 20072293105446830
7Glen Villa2292114353-1029
9Hinckley Athletic 20082274114752-525
11Burbage Old Boys2243152469-4515
12St. Patricks2242163574-3914

Division Two

1Newbold Verdon20161375195649
2Leicester Tile 0820145198326647
3Birstall Social20143358184045
4Sporting Sapcote20120854361836
5Oakham Imperial20102866382832
6FC Barlestone St. Giles209294137429
7Fleckney Athletic208393851-1327
8FC Desford2073104165-2424
9Thurlaston Magpies2041153167-3613
10Broughton Astley2030171177-669
11FC BarwellL2022162295-738
  • FC Khalsa ‘A’ resigned from the league.

Reserve Premier Division

1Guru Nanak Gurdwara (GNG) Reserves22164266333352
2Birstall Royal British Legion Reserves22153464333148
3Cosby United Reserves22124650391140
4FC Kirkland Reserves2210665044636
5Magna 73 Reserves228954640633
6Belgrave ReservesM2295871531832
7Houghton Rangers Reserves2274114343025
8County Hall Reserves226794649-325
9Glenfield Town Reserves2266104350-724
10St. Patricks Reserves2273123367-3424
11Glen Villa Reserves2252153762-2517
12Welby Lane United ReservesL2241172763-3613

Reserve Division One

1Kingsway Rangers ReservesL2220201171710062
2North Kilworth Sports Reserves22163385404551
3Mountsorrel Amateurs Reserves22144468313746
4Oadby Boys Club ’93 Reserves22121957451237
5Thurnby United 2007 Reserves22102105754332
6Topps United ReservesL2274115667-1125
7Queniborough Reserves2281136275-1325
8Midland Syston St. Peter’s Reserves2273124357-1424
9Huncote Reserves2273123655-1924
10Oakham Imperial Reserves2264124882-3422
11Thurlaston Magpies Reserves2270154291-4921
12Kibworth Town Reserves2241173592-5713
  • Burbage Old Boys Reserves resigned from the league.

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Belgrave to the Leicestershire Senior League
  • Belgrave Reserves to the Leicestershire Football Combination

FC Barwell, Kingsway Rangers Reserves, Topps United Reserves and Welby Lane United Reserves also left the league.

At the end of the season the following clubs changed names:

  • Hinckley Athletic 2008 became Ashby Road.

League Cup

First Round

19th September 2009
County Hall1 – 3Kingsway Rangers
Fleckney Athletic0 – 4Huncote
Newbold Verdon4 – 2Kibworth Town
Sporting Sapcote5 – 0FC Barlestone St. Giles
Thurnby United 20073 – 2
Magna 73

Byes: Belgrave, Birstall Royal British Legion, Birstall Social, Blaby United, Broughton Astley, Burbage Old Boys, Cosby United, FC Barwell, FC Desford, FC Khalsa ‘A’, FC Kirkland, Glen Villa, Glenfield Town, Guru Nanak Gurdwara (GNG), Hinckley Athletic 2008, Houghton Rangers, Leicester Tile 08, Midland Syston St. Peter’s, Mountsorrel Amateurs, North Kilworth Sports, Oadby Boys Club ’93, Oakham Imperial, Queniborough, St. Patricks, Thurlaston Magpies, Topps United and Welby Lane United.

Second Round

17th October 2009
Broughton Astley0 – 7FC Kirkland
Burbage Old Boys0 – 2Topps United
Cosby United4 – 2
Thurnby United 2007
FC Barwell0 – 13Birstall Royal British Legion
FC Desford0 – 5Belgrave
FC Khalsa ‘A’ (away walkover)Blaby United
Glen Villa4 – 2Queniborough
Hinckley Athletic 20082 – 1Oakham Imperial
Midland Syston St. Peter’s4 – 2Leicester Tile 08
Mountsorrel Amateurs4 – 0Guru Nanak Gurdwara (GNG)
North Kilworth Sports0 – 4Kingsway Rangers
Oadby Boys Club ’931 – 0Birstall Social
St. Patricks0 – 4Houghton Rangers
Thurlaston Magpies1 – 0Huncote
Welby Lane United2 – 5Newbold Verdon
14th November 2009
Glenfield Town4 – 3
Sporting Sapcote

Third Round

14th November 2009
Belgrave3 – 0Midland Syston St. Peter’s
Birstall Royal British Legion3 – 5Mountsorrel Amateurs
Blaby United6 – 2Glen Villa
Houghton Rangers2 – 2
(4 – 5 pens)
Oadby Boys Club ’93
Kingsway Rangers4 – 1Topps United
Newbold Verdon1 – 2FC Kirkland
12th December 2009
Hinckley Athletic 20080 – 3Thurlaston Magpies
30th January 2010
Cosby United2 – 2
(4 – 2 pens)
Glenfield Town

Quarter Finals

30th January 2010
Blaby United3 – 2Oadby Boys Club ’93
FC Kirkland4 – 1Belgrave
Mountsorrel Amateurs3 – 4Kingsway Rangers
27th February 2010
Thurlaston Magpies1 – 6Cosby United

Semi Finals

20th March 2010
FC Kirkland1 – 2Blaby United
at Huncote Sports & Social, Thurlaston.
Kingsway Rangers2 – 4
Cosby United
at County Scout HQ, Blaby.


1st May 2010
Blaby United1 – 0Cosby United
at Holmes Park, Whetstone.

Chairman’s Cup

First Round

17th October 2009
Belgrave Reserves2 – 0Glenfield Town Reserves
Birstall Royal British Legion Reserves8 – 0Welby Lane United Reserves
County Hall Reserves0 – 4St. Patricks Reserves
FC Kirkland Reserves2 – 1Mountsorrel Amateurs Reserves
Guru Nanak Gurdwara (GNG) Reserves4 – 0Cosby United Reserves
Houghton Rangers Reserves3 – 5North Kilworth Sports Reserves
Kingsway Rangers Reserves(home walkover)Burbage Old Boys Reserves
Queniborough Reserves0 – 1Magna 73 Reserves
Topps United Reserves3 – 0Thurlaston Magpies Reserves

Byes: Glen Villa Reserves, Huncote Reserves, Kibworth Town Reserves, Midland Syston St. Peter’s Reserves, Oadby Boys Club ’93 Reserves, Oakham Imperial Reserves and Thurnby United 2007 Reserves.

Second Round

14th November 2009
FC Kirkland Reserves0 – 1Kingsway Rangers Reserves
Glen Villa Reserves0 – 4Belgrave Reserves
Kibworth Town Reserves2 – 6St. Patricks Reserves
Magna 73 Reserves2 – 2
(4 – 5 pens)
Huncote Reserves
Midland Syston St. Peter’s Reserves2 – 3North Kilworth Sports Reserves
Oadby Boys Club ’93 Reserves3 – 1Oakham Imperial Reserves
Thurnby United 2007 Reserves1 – 2Guru Nanak Gurdwara (GNG) Reserves
Topps United Reserves1 – 5Birstall Royal British Legion Reserves

Quarter Finals

30th January 2010
Belgrave Reserves1 – 1
(3 – 1 pens)
Guru Nanak Gurdwara (GNG) Reserves
Birstall Royal British Legion Reserves1 – 0Huncote Reserves
St. Patricks Reserves3 – 1North Kilworth Sports Reserves
6th March 2010
Oadby Boys Club ’93 Reserves1 – 2Kingsway Rangers Reserves

Semi Finals

13th March 2010
Belgrave Reserves? – ? *Kingsway Rangers Reserves
at Kirkby Road, Desford.
Birstall Royal British Legion Reserves1 – 0St. Patricks Reserves
at Rearsby Road, Queniborough.
* no score marked in Full Time.


24th April 2010
Belgrave Reserves1 – 3Birstall Royal British Legion Reserves
at Holmes Park, Whetstone.