Leicestershire Senior League

Leicestershire Senior League 1983/84

Town bring the Senior League championship to Melton Mowbray for the first time.


WinnersRunners Up
Premier DivisionMelton TownNarborough & Littlethorpe
Division OneHarborough Town ImperialHinckley Town
League CupWigston TownNarborough & Littlethorpe

The 1983/84 saw a change in division names for the Senior league, with the two divisions being renamed Premier Division and Division One. This year saw the long wait for the league championship to arrive in Melton Mowbray end with Melton Town winning the league by 9 points.

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Leicester & District Football League

Barlestone St. Giles.

Premier Division

1Melton Town30234381285350
2Narborough & Littlethorpe30177665353041
3Anstey Nomads30168658342440
4Birstall United30159654371739
5Wigston Town301551044301435
6Wigston Fields30111184536933
7Friar Lane Old Boys301281050361432
8Oadby Town3091384947231
10Desford Colliery30123155473-1927
11Earl Shilton Albion3089135064-1425
12Leicester United Reserves30711123041-1125
13Newfoundpool WMC (-2)30810126162-124
16Holwell WorksR3055203055-2515

Division One

1Harborough Town Imperial30186646232342
2Hinckley Town301412445261940
3Kirby Muxloe30175850311939
4Anstey Town30121265044636
5Houghton Rangers301211745291635
6Syston St. Peter’s301551056451135
7Lutterworth Town30111094037332
8Rolls-Royce Mountsorrel301351270531731
9Sileby Town30119103232031
10Leicester YMCA30118114539630
11Barrow Town30116133947-828
12Thurmaston Town3088143455-2124
13Barlestone St. Giles30513124256-1423
15Barwell Athletic3073203861-2317
16Whetstone Athletic3046202263-4114