Leicestershire Senior League

Leicestershire Senior League 1977/78

Friar Lane Old Boys make it five in a row.


WinnersRunners Up
Division OneFriar Lane Old BoysOadby Town
Division TwoShepshed CharterhouseLutterworth Town
League CupOadby TownAnstey Nomads

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Leicester & District Football League

Thurmaston PWMC.

Division One

1Friar Lane Old Boys30245186186853
2Oadby Town30211856292743
3Newfoundpool WMC30185745291641
4Jones & ShipmanL30166843291438
5Anstey Nomads30157849292037
6Melton Town301371055441133
8Enderby Town Reserves30108122934-528
9Wigston Fields30107133339-627
11Birstall United3088143957-1824
13Earl Shilton Albion3086163854-1622
14Hinckley Town30512132550-2522
15Ibstock Penistone RoversR3077163550-1521
16Leicester YMCAR3038192563-3814

Division Two

1Shepshed Charterhouse302451100208053
2Lutterworth Town30216375294648
3Corby Town Reserves (-2)30216372205246
4Syston St. Peter’s30195666323443
5Wellington Victoria301551062471535
7Thurmaston PWMC3099124254-1227
8Whetstone Athletic30811113450-1627
9Barrow Old Boys30106145459-526
10Houghton Rangers30106144453-926
11Sileby Town3096153160-2924
12Harborough Town Imperial3087153965-2623
13Barwell Athletic3084183264-3220
14Dainite Sports3074194680-3418
15Midland Athletic3063213063-3315
16Cosby UnitedM3061233279-4713

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Cosby United to the Leicester & District Football League.

Jones & Shipman disbanded at the end of the season.

Midland Athletic merged with Wigston Council Old Boys (Leicester & District League) to form Wigston Town. The new team will take the place of Midland Athletic in the Leicestershire Senior League from the next season.