Leicestershire Senior LeagueX - Goals Incorrect

Leicestershire Senior League 1955/56

Whitwick Colliery Reserves win the league.


WinnersRunners Up
Division OneWhitwick Colliery ReservesLeicester City ‘A’
Division TwoBurton Albion ReservesLeicester Amateurs

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Leicester City Football League

Anstey Nomads Reserves and Lutterworth Town.

From the Loughborough & District Amateur Football Alliance

Shelthorpe Social Club.

From the Staffordshire County League

Burton Albion Reserves.

Division One

1Whitwick Colliery Reserves28212593425144
2Leicester City ‘A’282026103366742
3Earl Shilton Institute28164889741536
4Holwell Works28163978671135
5Loughborough Colleges28145986642233
6Ibstock Penistone Rovers28127966551131
7Shepshed Albion281511277591831
8Bentley Engineering281351074551931
9Measham Imperial28113146375-1225
10Oadby Town2887135571-1623
11Desford Colliery28101175688-3221
12Midland Woodworkers2892177393-2020
13Wellington Victoria2883175274-2219
14Syston St. Peter’sR2882186093-3318
15Anstey Nomads ReservesR28432135104-6911
Note: there is an error in the goals for/against columns as the totals do not add up.

Division Two

1Burton Albion Reserves282161105248148
2Leicester Amateurs282116104515343
3Sileby Town28173886434337
4Cosby United28163994563835
5Oakham Imperial2815498980934
6Burgess Products28153107171033
7Enderby Town281261070502030
8Lutterworth Town28134116266-430
9Ellistown CollieryM28104145577-2224
10Shelthorpe Social Club2894155290-3822
12Morris Sports2885155284-3221
13Earl Shilton Albion28641859101-4216
14Barrow Old Boys2871204984-3515
15Barwell Athletic28432151104-5311

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Ellistown Colliery to the Coalville & District Amateur Football League.