Leicestershire Senior League

Leicestershire Senior League 1926/27

League title goes to Mountsorrel for the first time.


WinnersRunners Up
LeagueMountsorrel TownBarwell United

No new teams joined the league this season.

Leicestershire Senior League

1Mountsorrel Town20142471323930
2Barwell UnitedL20141571284329
3Moira United20123584473727
4Whitwick Imperial2012265952726
5Loughborough Corinthians Reserves20113681513025
6Ibstock Colliery2092971591220
7Gresley Rovers Reserves2084856451120
8Shepshed AlbionL2082104546-118
9Ashby TownL2041153787-509
10Stableford’s WorksM20331447104-579
11Measham TownL20231532103-717

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Stableford’s Works to the Coalville & District Amateur Football League

Ashby Town disbanded after this season.

Shepshed Albion may have disbanded after this season as the following newspaper article suggests that was an option.


Leicester Evening Mail, Thursday 28th April 1927.

A meeting of the management committee of the above club was held at the Black Swan Inn on Tuesday (26th April) evening, when it was decided to withdraw from the Leicestershire Senior League competition. This step has been taken owing to the insufficient financial support received during the present season.

This does not necessarily mean that the club is to become extinct, for if at the annual general meeting it is decided to carry on, and they wish to see re-admission to the League, they will in all probability be able to do so.

Barwell United and Measham Town may also have disbanded after this season (though Barwell United were in the FA Cup draw for the 1927/28 season)