Leicestershire Senior League 1896-1901

Leicestershire Senior League 1896/97

Leicester Fosse Reserves are the first Senior League champions.


WinnersRunners Up
LeagueLeicester Fosse ReservesCoalville Albion

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Leicestershire & Northamptonshire League

Coalville Town, Hinckley Town, Hugglescote Robin Hoods, Leicester Fosse Reserves, Loughborough Athletic and Shepshed Town.

From the Ashby & District Football League

Ibstock Albion.

From the Hinckley & District Football League

Barwell Swifts and Earl Shilton Town.

From the North Leicestershire Football League

Coalville Albion and Whitwick Town.

Leicestershire Senior League

1Leicester Fosse Reserves (-2)M20141563184527
2Coalville Albion20114547272026
3Hinckley Town (-4)20125350133725
4Coalville Town2094737231422
5Loughborough AthleticM207673529620
6Ibstock AlbionM208483043-1320
7Whitwick Town207583637-119
8Shepshed Town207583437-319
9Barwell Swifts208393756-1919
10Earl Shilton Town2033142676-509
11Hugglescote Robin Hoods2024141652-368

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Leicester Fosse Reserves to the United Counties League
  • Loughborough Athletic to the United Counties League
  • Ibstock Albion to the Ashby & District Football League