Leicester & District League

TMS Motor Group Leicester & District League 1997/98

Thurmaston Town win the league.


WinnersRunners Up
Premier DivisionThurmaston TownMagna 73
Division OneUppingham TownRothley Imperial
Division TwoRatby SportsDunton Bassett
Reserve Premier DivisionTWT Glenfield Town ReservesThurmaston Town Reserves
Reserve Division OneRothley Imperial ReservesHeather St. John’s Reserves

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

Leicestershire Senior League

Burbage Old Boys and Houghton Rangers.

Leicester & District Mutual Football League

Pick Everard and Wellington Victoria 86 (+Reserves).

Leicester City Football League

Rothley Imperial (+Reserves).

From the Melton & Rutland District League

Melton Toy Soldiers.

The following new teams joined the league:

Beaumont Town, East Midlands Electricity 97, Gynsill Lane, Stanton and Swallow.

As well as the above teams the following reserve teams also joined:

Beaumont Town Reserves and Gynsill Lane Reserves.

(as both Beaumont Town and Gynsill Lane went straight into the Premier Division I suspect they may have been existing clubs that were renamed for this season. The likely candidates seem to be Grange AFC who were last years Division One champions and British Shoe Corporation who were in the Premier Division)

TMS Volvo Premier Division

1Thurmaston Town242022101188362
2Magna 7324163564263851
3Cosby United24145573403347
4GEC Sports & Social24151854272746
5Houghton RangersL24124862511140
6Beaumont TownL2412395850839
7TWT Glenfield Town2494114150-931
8County Hall2486104062-2230
10City Gas2462163065-3520
11Blaby UnitedR2461172453-2919
12Gynsill LaneR2460184181-4018
13Lutterworth AthleticR2444162868-4016

TMS Land Rover Division One

1Uppingham Town22161571403149
2Rothley Imperial22144466353146
3Fleckney United22144450262446
4Heather St. John’s22127359293043
6Loughborough AthleticM2293103937230
7Stoke Golding228595049129
8Burbage Old Boys227784538728
9Kibworth TownL2272134472-2823
10Sapcote United2247113548-1319
11Syston TownL2242163468-3414
12Birstall Royal British LegionR2203192688-623
  • Newbold Verdon resigned from the league before November.

TMS Nissan Division Two

1Ratby Sports20125370333741
2Dunton Bassett20125346232341
3Melton Toy Soldiers20114552361637
4Glen Villa209653931833
5Wellington Victoria 86209564841732
6East Midlands Electricity 97209383733430
7Pick Everard20911057451228
10Wreake ValleyL2035123866-2814
11Welby Lane United2042142781-5414
  • Leicester YMCA Reserves resigned from the league. They played in the Leicestershire Football Combination next season.

TMS Discovery Reserve Premier Division

1TWT Glenfield Town Reserves22172375215453
2Thurmaston Town ReservesM22154376255149
3Magna 73 Reserves22125553361741
4Cosby United Reserves22105743321135
5GEC Sports & Social Reserves2297659451434
6Uppingham Town Reserves229496153831
7Stoke Golding Reserves227783935428
8Blaby United Reserves2274113248-1625
9Epworth Reserves2273124255-1324
10Beaumont Town ReservesL2272134261-1923
11County Hall Reserves2244143086-5616
12Lutterworth Athletic ReservesR2233162176-5512
  • Gynsill Lane Reserves resigned from the league, they played in the Reserve Division One next season.

TMS Primera Reserve Division One

1Rothley Imperial Reserves24203180215963
2Heather St. John’s Reserves24164478364252
3Queniborough Reserves24135651282344
4Sapcote United Reserves24142857421544
5Dunton Bassett Reserves24132954421241
6Fleckney United Reserves2411494945437
7Birstall Royal British Legion Reserves24102125865-732
8Glen Villa Reserves24941165531231
9Ratby Sports Reserves2483135754327
10Loughborough Athletic ReservesM2474134569-2425
11Wellington Victoria 86 Reserves2463153264-3221
12City Gas Reserves24511835106-7116
13Kibworth Town ReservesL2443173672-3615

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Thurmaston Town to the Leicestershire Senior League.
  • Loughborough Athletic to the Midland Football Combination.
  • Leicester YMCA Reserves and Thurmaston Town Reserves to the Leicestershire Football Combination.
  • Loughborough Athletic Reserves to the North Leicestershire Football League.

Beaumont Town (+Reserves), Houghton Rangers, Kibworth Town (+Reserves), Syston Town and Wreake Valley also left the league.