Leicester & District League

TMS Motor Group Leicester & District League 1995/96

Cosby United win the league for the second time.


WinnersRunners Up
Premier DivisionCosby UnitedPedigree Petfoods
Division OneThurnby RangersCity Gas
Division TwoGrange AFCKibworth Town
Reserve Premier DivisionCosby United ReservesDCE Thurmaston Reserves
Reserve Division OneNew Parks ReservesPedigree Petfoods Reserves

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Leicestershire Senior League

Leicester YMCA.

From the Leicester & District Mutual Football League

Kibworth Town (+Reserves).

From the Leicester City Football League

New Parks (+Reserves), Ratby Sports (+Reserves) and Wreake Valley.

From the Leicestershire Football Combination

Leicester YMCA Reserves.

From the Melton & Rutland District Football League

Pedigree Petfoods Reserves.

From the Nuneaton & District Amateur Football League

Attleborough Labour (+Reserves).

The following new teams joined the league:

Grange AFC and Thurnby Rangers (this was Thurnby Rangers first season in Saturday football having previously played Sunday football in the Charnwood Sunday League).

TMS Volvo Premier Division

1Cosby United24202285265962
2Pedigree Petfoods241734105357054
3GEC Sports & Social24151880364446
4Birstall Royal British LegionR24142871442744
5DCE Thurmaston24125758322641
6Magna 73241131070571336
7Leicester YMCAM24104106458634
8Grace Dieu United248795152-131
9Blaby United2482143256-2426
10Uppingham Town2466124056-1624
11Glenfield Town2465134464-2023
12British Shoe Corporation2464144061-2122
13Dunton BassettR24102317180-1633
  • Croxton Kerrial resigned from the league on 14th August due to lack of players.

TMS Land Rover Division One

1Thurnby Rangers22192183206359
2City Gas22163359213851
3New ParksL22154377225549
5Syston Town2293105052-230
6Lutterworth Athletic2292114340329
7County Hall228593151-2029
8Winstanley Old BoysL2284104242028
9Wreake Valley2282125363-1026
10Stoke Golding2262143183-5220
11Sapcote United2241172579-5413
12Glen VillaR2232172766-3911

TMS Nissan Division Two

1Grange AFC22182269165356
2Kibworth Town22171489375252
3Loughborough Athletic22155285265950
4Ratby Sports22115663392438
5Fleckney United2212194442237
6Attleborough Labour229584944532
7Heather St. Johns2284105371-1828
8Thurmaston Sports & Social2273123352-1924
10Welby Lane United2263133562-2721
11Thurnby United2231183890-5210
12Newbold Jubilee (-3)2231183580-457

Reserve Premier Division

1Cosby United Reserves282530119811178
2DCE Thurmaston Reserves28174770373355
3County Hall Reserves28158562372553
4Syston Town Reserves28164871393252
5GEC Sports & Social Reserves28137873452846
6Lutterworth Athletic Reserves281261060372342
7Magna 73 Reserves281331272591342
8Stoke Golding Reserves28115125355-238
9City Gas Reserves28112155583-2835
10Grace Dieu United Reserves2888124447-332
11Epworth Reserves2893164561-1630
12Leicester YMCA Reserves2885154678-3229
13British Shoe Corporation Reserves2867155681-2525
14Dunton Bassett Reserves28712035111-7622
15Blaby United ReservesR28361927110-8315

Reserve Division One

1New Parks ReservesL2624111201810273
2Pedigree Petfoods ReservesM262204103327166
3Uppingham Town Reserves26182693454856
4Birstall Royal British Legion Reserves26136770531745
5Attleborough Labour Reserves261231168551339
6Queniborough Reserves26114114969-2037
7Glenfield Town Reserves26105115779-2235
8Ratby Sports Reserves26104124871-2334
9Loughborough Athletic Reserves2695125870-1232
10Kibworth Town Reserves2682164868-2026
11Glen Villa Reserves2681174278-3625
12Heather St. Johns Reserves2662184776-2920
13Thurmaston Sports & Social Reserves2654173579-4419
14Sapcote United Reserves2653184691-4518

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Pedigree Petfoods to the Leicestershire Senior League.
  • Leicester YMCA to the Midland Football Combination.
  • Pedigree Petfoods Reserves to the Leicestershire Football Combination.

New Parks (+Reserves) and Winstanley Old Boys also left the league.

At the end of the season the following clubs changed names:

  • DCE Thurmaston became Thurmaston Town.
  • Newbold Jubilee became Newbold Verdon.