Leicester & District LeagueX - Incomplete TableX - Won Lost Drawn Incorrect

Leicester & District League 1988/89

Uppingham Town win the league for the first time.


WinnersRunners Up
Premier DivisionUppingham TownBlaby United
Division OneFosse ImpsStoney Stanton
Division TwoNew Parks Boys ClubBroughton Astley
Reserve Premier DivisionAngraves ReservesAylestone Park Old Boys Reserves
Reserve Division OneCottesmore Amateurs ReservesNew Parks Boys Club Reserves

Note: I am missing the goals information for all tables for this season (sourced from the Melton Times which did not publish goals in the league tables).

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Leicester City Football League

Enderby Forest (+Reserves).

From the Melton & Rutland District League

Boulton & Paul and Cottesmore Amateurs Reserves.

From the Northamptonshire Combination

Dainite Sports (+Reserves).

The following new teams joined the league:

New Parks Boys Club (+Reserves), who moved from playing Sunday football in the Leicester ’74 Sunday League.

As well as the above teams the following reserve teams also joined:

Fleckney Reserves.

Premier Division

1Uppingham Town241554   35
2Blaby United241365   32
3Leicestershire Constabulary241185   30
4Asfordby Amateurs241347   30
5City Gas241185   30
6Cottesmore Amateurs241257   29
7Loughborough Dynamo241158   27
8Glenfield Town241059   25
9Aylestone Park Old Boys2411211   24
10Kingsway248313   19
11Fleckney245712   17
12Dunton Bassett244119   9
13Huncote Sports & SocialR242319   7
Note: the won, drawn, lost columns do not add up correctly.
  • Oakham Swifts resigned from the league.

Division One

1Fosse Imps241743   38
2Stoney Stanton241815   37
3Angraves241545   34
4Burbage Old Boys241455   33
5Epworth241194   31
6Hinckley Gunners2410410   24
7Cosby United247611   20
8Frisby United249114   19
9Heather St. Johns247413   18
10Thurmaston United246513   17
11Welby Lane United246513   17
12British Shoe CorporationR246315   15
13Dainite SportsR242517   9

Division Two

1New Parks Boys Club222200   44
2Broughton Astley221453   33
3Tungstone 85221435   31
4Enderby Forest221147   26
5Countesthorpe United22949   22
6Sapcote United2210111   21
7Hinckley Nomads22679   19
8Methodist UnitedM225611   16
9Apollo RTH225512   15
10Earl Shilton Rangers223712   13
11Boulton & Paul (-2)225314   11
12AsfordbyL223514   11
  • Ashby Road Sports resigned from the league in November.

Reserve Premier Division

1Angraves Reserves282233   47
2Aylestone Park Old Boys ReservesM282062   46
3City Gas Reserves282053   45
4Loughborough Dynamo ReservesM281954   43
5Stoney Stanton Reserves281468   34
6Huncote Sports & Social Reserves2814410   32
7Blaby United Reserves2813510   31
8British Shoe Corporation Reserves2813411   30
9Fosse Imps Reserves2810414   24
10Welby Lane United ReservesL287516   19
11Dunton Bassett Reserves286715   19
12Cosby United Reserves287417   18
13Kingsway ReservesR287417   18
14Thurmaston United ReservesR283322   9
15Countesthorpe United ReservesR282125   5

Reserve Division One

1Cottesmore Amateurs Reserves282341   50
2New Parks Boys Club Reserves282242   48
3Glenfield Town Reserves282026   42
4Epworth Reserves281765   40
5Asfordby Amateurs Reserves281558   35
6Broughton Astley Reserves2815310   33
7Heather St. Johns Reserves2813114   27
8Dainite Sports Reserves2812214   26
9Burbage Old Boys Reserves289613   24
10Uppingham Town Reserves288614   22
11Enderby Forest Reserves2810117   21
12Sapcote United Reserves287615   20
13Earl Shilton Rangers ReservesL287516   19
14Apollo RTH Reserves283322   9
15Fleckney Reserves281225   4

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Aylestone Park Old Boys, Leicestershire Constabulary and Loughborough Dynamo to the Leicestershire Senior League.
  • Aylestone Park Old Boys Reserves and Loughborough Dynamo Reserves to the Leicestershire Football Combination.
  • Methodist United to the Melton & Rutland District League.

Asfordby, Earl Shilton Rangers Reserves and Webly Lane United Reserves also left the league.