Leicester & District League

Leicester & District League 1987/88

Highfield Rangers are champions.


WinnersRunners Up
Premier DivisionHighfield RangersLeicestershire Constabulary
Division OneGlenfield TownKingsway
Division TwoHinckley GunnersStoney Stanton
Reserve Premier DivisionCity Gas ReservesAylestone Park Old Boys Reserves
Reserve Division OneAngraves ReservesFosse Imps Reserves

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Leicester & District Mutual Football League

Glenfield Town (+Reserves) and Tungstone 85.

From the Leicester City Football League

Angraves (+Reserves).

As well as the above teams the following reserve teams also joined:

Ashby Road Sports, Broughton Astley Reserves, Countesthorpe United Reserves and Oakham Swifts Reserves.

Premier Division

1Highfield RangersM24221192276545
2Leicestershire Constabulary24164463313236
3Huncote Sports & Social24135651341731
4Cottesmore Amateurs24124849341528
5Uppingham Town24132957471028
6Loughborough Dynamo24115869422727
7Aylestone Park Old Boys24113104351-825
8Blaby United246993254-2221
9City Gas2464143450-1616
10Asfordby Amateurs2455144354-1115
11Dunton Bassett2463153356-2315
12Thurmaston UnitedR2453163966-2713
13Hinckley Knight (-2)L2444162988-5910
  • Kegworth Rovers resigned from the league.

Division One

1Glenfield Town22181372324037
4Oakham Swifts2211475447726
6Welby Lane United2210575648825
7Heather St. John’s229584039123
8Burbage Old Boys2274113962-2318
9Fosse Imps2256114749-216
11Cosby United2246123050-2014
12Methodist UnitedR2222183180-496
  • Enderby Rangers resigned from the league.

Division Two

1Hinckley Gunners24172570363436
2Stoney Stanton24171697366135
3British Shoe Corporation24154562392334
4Frisby United24145551321933
5Broughton Astley24143750351531
6Tungstone 8524141969492029
7Countesthorpe United24102124847122
8Apollo RTH2475125167-1619
9Sapcote United2482144352-918
10Earl Shilton Rangers2465134856-817
11Hinckley Nomads2472154169-2816
12Ashby Road Sports2454153083-5314

Reserve Premier Division

1City Gas Reserves26192565263940
2Aylestone Park Old Boys Reserves26146654312334
3Huncote Sports & Social Reserves26153876393733
4Loughborough Dynamo Reserves26153861412033
5Welby Lane United Reserves2613583332131
6Dunton Bassett Reserves2612685851730
7Thurmaston United Reserves2610794637927
8Hinckley Knight ReservesL26114114948126
9Stoney Stanton Reserves2686125255-322
10Cosby United Reserves2678113949-1022
11Blaby United Reserves2666143159-2818
12Uppingham Town ReservesR2656153558-2316
13Asfordby Amateurs ReservesR2656153259-2716
14Burbage Old Boys ReservesR2664163278-4616

Reserve Division One

1Angraves Reserves28222488365246
2Fosse Imps Reserves28186474274742
3British Shoe Corporation Reserves28186466382842
4Countesthorpe United Reserves28156779532636
5Kingsway Reserves28164852371536
6Glenfield Town Reserves28147774383635
7Oakham Swifts Reserves28154959392034
8Earl Shilton Rangers Reserves28126105753430
9Epworth Reserves281321373571628
10Heather St. John’s Reserves2896134450-624
11Broughton Astley Reserves2885154365-2221
12Hinckley Nomads ReservesL2865176279-1717
13Sapcote United Reserves2872194775-2816
14Apollo RTH Reserves28342139100-6110
15Ashby Road Sports ReservesL28112633143-1103

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Highfield Rangers to the Central Midlands Football League.

Ashby Road Sports Reserves, Hinckley Knight (+Reserves) and Hinckley Nomads Reserves also left the league.