Leicester & District League

Leicester & District League 1980/81

Kegworth Rovers win the league.


WinnersRunners Up
Premier DivisionKegworth RoversAnstey Town
Division OnePetfoodsLoughborough Dynamo
Division TwoAylestone Park Old BoysN. Corah
Reserve Premier DivisionPetfoods ReservesAnstey Town Reserves
Reserve Division OneHuncote Sports & Social ReservesFrisby United Reserves

Before the start of the season the following teams moved to the league:

From the Melton & Rutland District Football League

Frisby United Reserves.

From the Nuneaton & District Amateur Football League


The following new teams joined the league:

Aylestone Park Old Boys (played Sunday football as Aylestone Park Youth in the Charnwood Sunday league before switching to Saturday football this season) and Jones & Shipman (last played Saturday football in 1977/78 in the Senior League. Switched to Sunday football the next season in the Leicester 74 Sunday League.)

Premier Division

1Kegworth Rovers26206098296946
2Anstey Town26186282285442
3Leicestershire Constabulary261310370442636
4British Shoe Corporation2615386255733
5Barlestone St. Giles26134977522530
6Huncote Sports & Social26117851411029
7Welby Lane United26106104455-1126
8Husbands Bosworth26104126262024
9City Gas2671094251-924
10New Parks Boys Club2677126167-621
11Uppingham TownR2656154886-3816
12Oakham TownR2655163869-3115
13Frisby UnitedR2645173472-3813
14Earl Shilton TownR2633202987-589

Division One

2Loughborough Dynamo24146464362834
3Blaby United2410955045529
4Bentley Engineering2412485447728
5Fleckney Athletic249784236625
6Fire Services248974040025
7Burgess Products248794550-523
8Wigston Fields ‘A’L2477104448-421
9Coventry Road Sports246993140-921
10Heather St. JohnR2468104957-820
11Hinckley NomadsR2458113344-1118
12Braunstone TownM2457123361-2817
13Equity UnitedR2444163567-3212

Division Two

1Aylestone Park Old Boys22191279225739
2N. Corah22157071254637
3Apollo RTH22116561392228
4Ibstock Welfare22124649351428
5Stoney Stanton22123756371927
6Cosby United2286863501322
8Jones & Shipman227694544120
11Countesthorpe United2223172171-507
12Sapcote WMC22202017122-1054

Reserve Premier Division

1Petfoods Reserves26184471304140
2Anstey Town Reserves26174569294038
3Apollo RTH Reserves26180861352636
4Bentley Engineering Reserves26135867551231
5Coventry Road Sports Reserves26125954371729
6Earl Shilton Town Reserves26125963441929
7City Gas Reserves26125947361129
8British Shoe Corporation Reserves26115105351227
9Burgess Products Reserves26104125755224
10Stoney Stanton Reserves2676134172-3120
11New Parks Boys Club Reserves2674155169-1818
12Blaby United Reserves2682163765-2818
13Welby Lane United Reserves2665153977-3817
14Uppingham Town ReservesR2632213893-558

Reserve Division One

1Huncote Sports & Social Reserves24211286186843
2Frisby United Reserves24163562332935
3Barlestone St. Giles Reserves24162670403034
4Fleckney Athletic Reserves24134767382930
5Ibstock Welfare Reserves2410775347627
6Husbands Bosworth Reserves24113106054625
7Loughborough Dynamo Reserves249785754325
8Cosby United Reserves2494115455-122
9Hinckley Nomads Reserves2474135364-1118
10Equity United Reserves2466124968-1918
11Oakham Town Reserves2455145587-3215
12Heather St. John Reserves2447134582-3715
13Countesthorpe United Reserves24132034105-715

After the season finished the following teams moved from the league:

  • Braunstone Town to the Leicester City Football League.

Wigston Fields ‘A’ also left the league.

At the end of the season the following clubs changed names:

  • Coventry Road Sports became Downes Sports.
  • Sapcote WMC became Sapcote United.