Junior Cup

The Junior Cup was set up to be the main cup competition for the Junior Leagues (so leagues sitting under the Leicestershire Senior League). Teams from the top division of the junior leagues in the county took part in the Junior Cup.

Junior Cup

WinnersRunners Up
1889/90Gresley RoversLoughborough Athletic
1890/91Loughborough SwiftsQuorn Havelock
1891/92Shepshed Town WanderersHemington United
1892/93Castle DoningtonLeicester Excelsior
1893/94Castle DoningtonEarl Shilton Town
1894/95Coalville Town SwiftsKegworth St. Andrew’s
1895/96Barwell SwiftsIbstock Albion
1896/97Sileby RangersHemington
1897/98HemingtonHathern Victoria
1898/99Castle DoningtonWhitwick White Cross
1899/00Burbage UnitedMarket Harborough
1900/01Loughborough CorinthiansLeicester Imperial
1901/02Earl Shilton UnitedMountsorrel Town

After the 1901/02 season the Junior Cup was split on a North / South basis and run as two separate competitions.

Junior Championship

Between 1902/03 and 1908/09 there was a separate cup called the Junior Championship where the winners of the Junior Cup North & South played each other.

The Junior Championship was played once again in the 1945/46 season, and then again between 1969/70 to 1973/74.

WinnersRunners Up
1902/03Barrow Rising StarAnstey Town
1903/04British UnitedLoughborough Emmanuel
1904/05Shepshed AlbionBritish United
1905/06Earl Shilton VictorShepshed Albion
1906/07Oxford VictoriaCastle Donington Town
1907/08Castle Donington TownBarwell United
1908/09R Walker & SonsWoodhouse Imperial
1945/46Wellington VictoriaWhitwick Colliery
1969/70Thringstone Miners WelfareHillcroft
1971/72Friar Lane Old Boys ReservesThringstone Reserves
1972/73Oadby Town ReservesIbstock Penistone Rovers Reserves

Junior Cup

After the 1973/74 season the Junior Cup once again became a single competition covering the whole county.

WinnersRunners Up
1974/75Desford CollieryHillcroft
1975/76Wigston COBThurmaston PWMC
1976/77Stonesby ParkHumberstone United
1977/78Desford CollieryFriar Lane Old Boys Reserves
1978/79Desford CollieryHolwell Works
1979/80Anstey TownDesford Colliery
1980/81New Parks Boys’ ClubSt. Margaret’s Athletic
1981/82St. Andrews SCPegsons
1982/83Barlestone St. GilesCorahs
1983/84St. Andrews SCBroughton Astley
1984/85St. Margaret’s AthleticWigston Town Reserves
1985/86RavenstoneAnstey Nomads Reserves
1986/87Highfield RangersLodge Farm YC
1987/88Highfield RangersLodge Farm YC
1988/89St. Andrews SC ReservesGEC Sports & Social
1989/90Asfordby AmateursWitherley United
1990/91Burbage Old BoysThurnby Boys’ Club
1991/92Fosse ImpsNew Parks
1992/93Saffron DynamoGEC Sports & Social
1993/94St. Andrews SC ReservesIngles
1994/95Anstey Nomads ReservesBrookside
1995/96Hillside RangersWitherley United
1996/97Thurnby RangersWitherley United
1997/98Thurmaston TownBelgrave WMC
1998/99Magna 73Glenfield Town
1999/00HathernBarwell Reserves
2001/02Shepshed Dynamo ReservesEpworth
2003/04Quorn ReservesNorthfield Eagles
2004/05Hinckley United ReservesHathern
2005/06Castle Donington TownBarlestone St. Giles
2006/07Barlestone St. GilesQueniborough
2007/08Witherley UnitedBarlestone St. Giles
2008/09Kirby Muxloe ReservesDesford

After the 2008/09 season the county cups were restructured with the Junior Cup being replaced by the Saturday Intermediate Cup.