Leicestershire Realm / Leicester & District Spartan Football League

This league ran from 1926/27 until the 1939/40 season and consisted of teams throughout the county.

It started off life as the Leicester Boys’ Realm Football League with two divisions. This league appeared to only run for three seasons as I can find no reference to it between 1929 and 1931.

In October 1931 there was a meeting for a newly formed Leicestershire Realm League which ended up having four divisions during the first season.

From the 1933/34 season the league appeared to have geographically based divisions, one for the Coalville area, one for the Wreake Valley and three city based divisions. This changed back to having four divisions in 1935/36, along with a name change to the Leicester & District Spartan Football League.

The league appeared to be going strong filling the gap of the disbanded Leicester & District League, with the top division teams playing in the Junior Cup.

Progress was halted by the start of the Second World War with a reduced competition in 1939/40 which ended with only 9 teams. The league stopped for the rest of the war period and did not start up again when peace resumed.

What do we know about this league ?

Leicester Boys’ Realm Football League

Division OneDivision TwoDivision ThreeDivision Four
1926/27Coalville Albert VillaCoalville Albert Villa Res
1927/28unknownunknownunknownAsfordby Old Boys
1928/29Markfield Instituteunknownunknownunknown

Leicestershire Realm Football League

Division OneDivision TwoDivision ThreeDivision Four
1931/32unknownunknownunknownPark Rangers
1932/33Cliffe Hill GranitePeckleton UnitedBraunstone WMC ResUplands Road

The format changed for the 1933/34 season with geographical based divisions.

CharnwoodWreakeDe MontfortWolseyNewton
1933/34Stanton-under-BardonAsfordby Valley Old BoysLeicester SuperStonesby AthleticSileby Wanderers
1934/35Stanton-under-BardonAsfordby Valley Old BoysBradgate ImperialAsfordby Valley Old Boys ResDunton Bassett United

Leicester & District Spartan Football League

The league changed it’s name and the format of the divisions with four divisions covering a single geographic region.

Division OneDivision TwoDivision ThreeDivision FourDivision Five
1935/36Asfordby Valley Old BoysBedford UnitedBagworth Town ResBarrow Old Boys
1936/37Bedford UnitedBarrow Old BoysNewbold Verdon United SSIbstock JuniorsBarrow Gunners Res
1937/38Clarendon Park AthleticSyston ImperialClarendon Park Athletic Res
1938/39Syston ImperialClarendon Park Athletic ResAylestone UnitedNorth End United
1939/40Kirby MuxloeNewarke Athletic