Leicester & District Football League (1895/96 to 1928/29)

The Leicester & District Football League was founded in 1895, and quickly became the second most important league in the county after the Leicestershire Senior League.

What do we know about this league ?

I know the seasons that the league was active plus all the teams that participated. I’m missing quite a lot of the final tables and in the mid 1920s I am missing some of the division champions.

Division OneDivision Two
1895/96Anstey Town
1896/97Belgrave St. Michael’s
1897/98Market Harborough Town
1898/99Market Harborough Town
1899/00Market Harborough Town
1900/01Leicester Imperial
1901/02South Wigston Albion
1902/03South Wigston Albion
1903/04Melton MowbrayWigston Excelsior Reserves
1904/05British UnitedWigston Excelsior Reserves
1905/06Humberstone VictoriaAnstey United
1906/0717th Regimental District
1907/08Holwell WorksSyston Robin Hoods
1908/09Holwell WorksHolwell Works Reserves
1909/1017th Regimental District
1910/11Holwell Works ReservesEnderby
1911/12R. Walker & Sons
1912/13Enderby Town
1913/14Enderby Town
1914/15Blaby Swifts

The league stopped for the First World War and resumed again in the 1919/20 season.

Division OneDivision Two
1919/20Enderby Town
1920/21Enderby TownSyston Town
1921/22Wigston AthleticWigston Excelsior
1922/23Enderby TownSouth Wigston Imperial Reserves
1923/24South Wigston ImperialLutterworth Town
1924/25South Wigston ImperialEarl Shilton Albion Reserves
1926/27Wigston Athleticunknown
1927/28South Wigston Imperialunknown

For the final season the league ran with only 4 teams resulting in the league folding after this season.