City of Leicester Shield

This competition started in the 1903/04 season as the Borough of Leicester Shield when the former Shield competition was split into separate City and County Competitions. For the first two seasons all teams in the Leicester area who were not in the Senior or Junior cups participated. From 1905/06 this became a competition for the top Leicester teams in the Mutual and Town Leagues (these leagues did not seem to qualify for the Junior Cup).

Borough of Leicester Shield

WinnersRunners Up
1903/04St. Andrew’sAll Saints’
1904/05Oxford VictoriaEmmanuel
1905/06Crafton SwiftsBelgrave PM
1906/07Argyle RoversBelgrave PM
1907/08Argyle RoversBelgrave Nonconformists
1908/09AvondaleSt. Martin’s BC
1909/10Argyle RoversHumberstone St. Mary’s
1910/11Argyle RoversBelvoir Street Sunday School
1911/12St. Andrew’s BCBalmoral United
1912/13Victoria Road InstituteBelgrave St. Peter’s Mission
1913/14Aylestone Park ASClarendon Park Congregational

There was no Borough of Leicester Shield competition between 1914/15 and 1918/19 seasons due to the First World War. When the competition resumed in 1919/20 it had changed it’s name due to Leicester being granted City status in 1919.

City of Leicester Shield

WinnersRunners Up
1919/20Humberstone St. Mary’sClarendon Park AS
1920/21Humberstone St. Mary’sCynthia
1921/22Aylestone St. James’St. Mark’s Old Boys
1922/23Aylestone St. James’Holy Trinity Pilots
1923/24Aylestone St. James’Aylestone United
1924/25West End BCShaftesbury Athletic
1925/26Evington AthleticNotts WMC
1926/27Mantle Road OB GuildHoly Trinity Pilots
1927/28Westcotes UnitedAylestone St. James’
1928/29Mantle Road OB GuildWest End BC
1929/30Rudkin & LaundonAylestone St. James’
1930/31Rudkin & LaundonMantle Road OB Guild
1931/32Aylestone Park ASRudkin & Laundon
1932/33Wigston COBParkside
1933/34Abbey Lane ImperialRothley Imperial
1934/35City Mental HospitalWhetstone Athletic
1935/36ArachneLansdowne Institute
1936/37Kirby Muxloe SeniorsArgyle Swifts
1937/38Groby ImperialWhetstone Athletic
1938/39St. Margaret’s WorksFielding & Johnsons
1939/40Whetstone AthleticSt. Margaret’s Works

The competition was once again suspended due to war between 1940 and 1946.

WinnersRunners Up
1946/47Enderby Town ReservesGimson & Co.
1947/48Wellington Victoria ReservesStead & Simpson
1948/49Avon AthleticBirstall United
1949/50Old Fosse BoysStead & Simpson
1950/51Old Fosse BoysRothley Imperial
1951/52Wellington Victoria ReservesKing Richard’s Road WMC
1952/53St. Margaret’s WorksGlen Hills Sports Club
1953/54Wellington Victoria ReservesStead & Simpson
1954/55South EndBritish United
1955/56Jones & ShipmanWoodfords
1956/57Thurmaston PWMCEnderby Town Reserves
1957/58Midland AthleticBelgrave Victoria
1958/59Linwood Old BoysBrookfield Swifts
1959/60Enderby Town ‘A’Glen Hills Sports Club
1960/61Birstall SocialElectricity Sports
1961/62Leicester YMCASaffron Lane WMC
1962/63Art & Pattern KnifeSt. Margaret’s Works Reserves

For the 1963/64 season the county wide Intermediate Shield was formed. This bought together the second division sides of both City based and County wide leagues into one competition.